What am I doing wrong?

If you are having problems finding or using cheats for an Emulator (particularly MAME/MESS) or have found a trick that you wish to share this is the place to do it. But please read the Cheat FAQ first.
Post Reply
Bugfinder
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

What am I doing wrong?

Post by Bugfinder »

I found on the net a patch for kof97 p1 ROM to have Orochi selectable on the character select screen, between normal Iori and Shingo. Analyzing the .ips file, I understood this:

Code: Select all

50 41 54 53 48 = text: PATCH
00 0E DB 00 01 17 = action: at address 000EDB, change to 17 (was 1E)
00 11 F5 00 01 17 = action: at address 0011F5, change to 17 (was 1E)
0A 94 98 00 01 1E = action: at address 0A9498, change to 1E (was FF)
0A 94 C7 00 01 1E = action: at address 0A94C7, change to 1E (was FF)
0A 94 F2 00 01 1E = action: at address 0A94F2, change to 1E (was FF)
0A 95 21 00 01 1E = action: at address 0A9521, change to 1E (was FF)
0A 95 4C 00 01 1E = action: at address 0A954C, change to 1E (was FF)
0A 95 7B 00 01 1E = action: at address 0A957B, change to 1E (was FF)
0A 95 A6 00 01 1E = action: at address 0A95A6, change to 1E (was FF)
0A 95 D5 00 01 1E = action: at address 0A95D5, change to 1E (was FF)
45 4F 46 = text: EOF
Since it's on CPU1 area, I made this cheat to have previous values saved in case I want to disable the cheat.

Code: Select all

:kof97:20800000:000EDB:00000017:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0011F5:00000017:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0A9498:0000001E:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0A94C7:0000001E:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0A94F2:0000001E:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0A9521:0000001E:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0A954C:0000001E:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0A957B:0000001E:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0A95A6:0000001E:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
:kof97:20810000:0A95D5:0000001E:FFFFFFFF:Make Orochi selectable
When I enable the cheat, I can select Orochi - but not Shingo! Using the patched ROM works just fine, I can select Shingo and Orochi, the problem is when I enable the ROM cheat. What am I missing here?

Thanks!
Bugfinder
------------------------------------------
If there's a bug, I'm gonna find it!
kelvSYC
Posts: 1121
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Post by kelvSYC »

Just curious, what's the 00 and 01 mean?
kelvSYC's Guide to the Cheat Engine - http://members.shaw.ca/kelvsyc/cheatguide.html

The New Move List Cheat Collection - http://mamecheat.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?p=6469

Underscore Command - What better game is there?
Bugfinder
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Well I?m no expert in patches :-)

Post by Bugfinder »

kelvSYC wrote:Just curious, what's the 00 and 01 mean?
I suppose it means the number of bytes in a row to change. They can be from $0001 to $FFFF. If the number of bytes is bigger than 65535, then the next hunk takes care of the rest.

This is only my guessing as I have never read .ips patch specification :-)
Bugfinder
------------------------------------------
If there's a bug, I'm gonna find it!
User avatar
ianpatt
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 1:00 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by ianpatt »

I've already sent you an e-mail which might help, but here's the jist: xor the addresses with 1; the CPU ROM is loaded with ROM_LOAD16_WORD_SWAP.
Bugfinder
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Thanks, that did the trick

Post by Bugfinder »

ianpatt wrote:I've already sent you an e-mail which might help, but here's the jist: xor the addresses with 1; the CPU ROM is loaded with ROM_LOAD16_WORD_SWAP.
Now it's working just fine :-)
Bugfinder
------------------------------------------
If there's a bug, I'm gonna find it!
Post Reply