[ATTN Ian] Seems like a farfetched idea, but...

If you are having problems finding or using cheats for an Emulator (particularly MAME/MESS) or have found a trick that you wish to share this is the place to do it. But please read the Cheat FAQ first.
Post Reply
kelvSYC
Posts: 1121
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

[ATTN Ian] Seems like a farfetched idea, but...

Post by kelvSYC »

Would it be possible to implement some way of converting console cheat devices (GameShark, etc) into actual MESS cheats (in MESS cheat format) in the next revision of the cheat engine?

It seems like a farfetched idea since this would have to be implemented on a console by console basis...
kelvSYC's Guide to the Cheat Engine - http://members.shaw.ca/kelvsyc/cheatguide.html

The New Move List Cheat Collection - http://mamecheat.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?p=6469

Underscore Command - What better game is there?
User avatar
ianpatt
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 1:00 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by ianpatt »

Yes. Doing this will take some time, because I will need to do some research on the cheat formats used by each of the systems.
kelvSYC
Posts: 1121
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Post by kelvSYC »

So would it be like all within MESS (a menu option like "Add Cheat Device Code", or would you be able to actually insert a cheat device code into a cheat.dat file and MESS would do all the conversion (like it is with old cheats and new cheats?
kelvSYC's Guide to the Cheat Engine - http://members.shaw.ca/kelvsyc/cheatguide.html

The New Move List Cheat Collection - http://mamecheat.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?p=6469

Underscore Command - What better game is there?
User avatar
ianpatt
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 1:00 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by ianpatt »

Here's my current idea for the UI:

In all supported systems which had a cheating device, the main cheat menu will have an option, possibly different for each system (for example: "Add Game Genie Code".) If a system had more than one cheat device, either more menu items would be added, or the generic "Add Cheat Device Code" would be used.

The code entering dialog would be formatted like this:

Code: Select all

+------------------------------+
| Code:          [the code]    |
| Format:      < Game Genie >  |
|                              |
|       Add and Activate       |
|              Add             |
|      Return to Main Menu     |
+------------------------------+
ph33r my l33t ASCII art skillz!

I don't think that I'll add support for including cheat device codes in the cheat.dat. After conversion to the native cheat format, of course they could be saved normally, though.

The cheat name would be generated automatically. Something like: "[cheat device name]:

Code: Select all

".
kelvSYC
Posts: 1121
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Post by kelvSYC »

But the next problem is that whether it would mess up the accuracy of the emulation of such devices.

Would the presence of a cheat device BIOS (like one of those rom dumps) be required? And would the cheat engine include support for a cheat entered through an emulated cheat device (eg. you boot MESS with the emulated cheat device and add a cheat through there, will the MESS cheat engine detect it and override the cheat device, converting the cheat to MESS cheat format and adding it to your MESS cheat list)?

Also, many cheat devices limit the number of cheats you can make. Will this be an issue?
kelvSYC's Guide to the Cheat Engine - http://members.shaw.ca/kelvsyc/cheatguide.html

The New Move List Cheat Collection - http://mamecheat.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?p=6469

Underscore Command - What better game is there?
User avatar
ianpatt
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 1:00 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by ianpatt »

The cheat device wouldn't actually be emulated. The cheat codes would be converted to the native cheat engine format, then they would be treated like regular cheats.

Real support for cheat devices in most cases would need to be done in the driver, and even then it wouldn't be very easy.
Post Reply